Utah Attorneys - Se Habla EspaƱol & Falamos Portuguese
Back to Top
Convict in orange jumpsuit

Potential Penalties for a First-Time DUI

It only takes one night to transition from never riding in a cop car to being charged for driving under the influence (DUI). Unfortunately, the potential penalties for a first-time DUI are somewhat severe.

First-Time DUI Penalties in Utah

Before we talk about the potential penalties of a first-time DUI, we must point out that some first-time DUIs will result in worse penalties based on aggravating factors. Aggravating factors are things that increase the severity of a criminal act.

Aggravating factors for a first-time DUI include:

  • Driving with a minor in the vehicle; and
  • Inflicting bodily injury on someone else as a proximate result of driving under the influence.

A first-time DUI is typically a class B misdemeanor, but these aggravating factors can turn the charge into a class A misdemeanor.

A Utah class B misdemeanor conviction could result in one of the following penalties:

  • A fine of up to $1,000; or
  • A prison term not exceeding six months; or
  • Both the fine and the prison term.

If an aggravating factor turns the charge into a class A misdemeanor, the convicted may face:

  • A fine of up to $2,500; or
  • A prison term not exceeding 364 days; or
  • Both the fine and the prison term.

Facing DUI Charges?

If you or a loved one is facing DUI charges, you’ll want experienced representation on your case! With decades of criminal law experience, Lokken & Associates can help you fight your charges.

Call (801) 829-9783 now for a free consultation for your case!

Categories