DUI

Drunk driving charges are serious. A conviction can significantly affect your future and result in fines, jail time and the loss of driving privileges. We will protect your rights at Lokken & Associates, P.C.

What You Need To Do After A DUI Arrest

Immediately following a DUI arrest, you need to request a hearing with the Utah Driver License Division. Our attorneys can assist you with a hearing request and guide you through the process. Your license may be suspended if you fail to request a hearing in a timely manner. We do not say this to scare you — we want to make sure we are able to do everything in our power to preserve your freedom after an arrest.

There are three ways you can be charged with a DUI:

  1. If your blood alcohol content (BAC) level is .08 (or .05 after December of 2018) or higher
  2. If the arresting officer believes you are not in a safe condition to drive, even if your BAC is less than .08 percent
  3. If police find any level of an illegal drug in your system, whether or not you are actually under the influence of the drug

We provide an aggressive drunk driving defense. You will always know where your case stands and what action we are taking to help you find the best outcome.

What are the penalties for a first-time DUI conviction in Utah?

Under Utah Code § 41-6A-503, a first-offense DUI is usually charged as a Class B misdemeanor. The penalties for a Class B misdemeanor are up to six months of possible jail time and a fine of up to $1,000 plus additional charges.

A first-time DUI offense is elevated to a Class A misdemeanor if:

  • The driver injured another person as a result of his or her negligent driving.
  • The driver had a passenger under 16 years old in the vehicle with them.
  • The driver was over the age of 21 and they had a passenger under the age of 18 in the vehicle.

A Class A misdemeanor conviction carries up to a year in jail and fines of up to $2,500.

Handling DUI Cases In State And Federal Court

Our DUI attorneys in Salt Lake City will explore all of your options after you have been charged with a DUI in Utah. We know how officers and prosecutors handle these charges. We will work hard to protect your freedom and preserve your driving privileges.

Our lawyers represent individuals in Salt Lake City and throughout Utah in DUI cases, including cases involving THC/marijuana and other illegal drugs. We also represent individuals charged with a DUI while operating a boat or riding an ATV.

Arrested? Contact Us Right Away.

We will help you with everything related to your DUI. Call 801-924-9211 right away after an arrest, or contact us online to schedule a free consultation to discuss your case.