Utah Attorneys - Se Habla EspaƱol & Falamos Portuguese
Back to Top

What Happens to My CDL After a DUI in Utah?

Having a commercial driver’s license (CDL) enables professionals such as truckers and bus drivers to operate large motor vehicles, earn a living, and provide for their families. Unfortunately, a DUI conviction can not only result in jail time and fines but also the suspension of a CDL.

According to the Utah Driver License Division (DLD), a DUI is considered a major offense that results in CDL disqualification. Remember, commercial drivers only need to have a blood alcohol content (BAC) level of .04 percent—as opposed to .08 percent for the average motorist.

Upon getting arrested, commercial drivers are required to report the incident to their employer within 30 days.

A first-time violation can lead to a one-year suspension. However, if the CDL holder was transporting hazardous materials at the time of the DUI arrest, a first-time violation results in a three-year suspension.

A second violation is punishable by a lifetime disqualification—even if the offense was committed in their personal vehicle.

If you have been charged with a DUI, your career and livelihood are on the line. Without your CDL, there goes your income and the financial means to support your loved ones.

At Lokken & Associates, P.C., we can evaluate your case, determine your available legal options, and obtain the best possible outcome of your case. If you were driving your personal vehicle at the time of your arrest, we can help prevent being punished as a commercial driver.

For more information, contact us and schedule a free consultation today.

Categories