What Is The Legal BAC To Drive In Utah?
Utah has some of the strictest DUI laws you’ll find. Even first-time offenders can face some serious penalties. Not only does driving under the influence put your freedom at risk, but it can also hurt you financially. Let’s take a closer look at the state's blood alcohol content (BAC) standard.
What is the Legal BAC To Drive in Utah?
A few years ago, lawmakers reduced Utah’s legal limit to a BAC of 0.05 percent. The ultimate goal is to save more lives. No other state in the country currently has a lower limit.
What Can Happen if You’re Caught Driving Over the Legal BAC Limit?
Loss of Driving Privileges
If you’re convicted of driving under the influence, your license will be suspended for a minimum of 120 days.
Utah requires first-time DUI offenders to spend a mandatory two days in jail or perform 48 hours of community service. However, keep in mind that penalties can vary from one case to the next. You could be sentenced to a maximum of 180 days in jail.
Many people convicted of this crime must pay more than $1,000 in fines and court costs. You will also have to cover the expense of DUI education class.
Higher Cost Of Car Insurance
To no surprise, a driving under the influence conviction will cause the cost of your auto insurance policy to increase. In some instances, it will be three times more expensive than before. The insurance provider now considers you to be a bigger liability.
Installation of an Ignition Interlock Device
Drivers who were found to have a BAC of 0.16% or higher may be required to have an ignition interlock device installed on their vehicle. This device is designed to test the driver’s BAC level before getting on the road. If the driver’s BAC is over a certain limit, the car will not start.
If you need any help, be sure to contact us at Lokken Associates. We can provide expert legal advice. Our team specializes in criminal defense and family law.