Utah Attorneys - Se Habla Español & Falamos Portuguese
Back to Top
Prison

Fines and Penalties In the State of Utah for Drug Possession, Use, and More

Utah Drug Offenses

Facing drug charges in Utah can be a scary and overwhelming situation to find yourself in. The penalties and fines for being convicted of a drug offense in Utah are serious enough to warrant the help of a trusted criminal defense attorney. Learn more below about the current fines and penalties in Utah for drug offenses.

 

Drug Possession

The type of drug that you are charged with being in possession of determines the level of punishment. Schedule I and II drugs are classified as a third-degree felony. The sentence for a third-degree felony in Utah can include up to five years in prison and a $5,000 fine. Marijuana and Schedules III, IV, and V drugs are treated as a class B misdemeanor. The sentence for a Class B misdemeanor can include up to six months in jail and a $1,000 fine.

 

If you have a prior criminal record, including repeat controlled substance offenses, this could result in harsher sentences upon conviction of a drug charge. In addition, using or possessing the illegal controlled substance in certain designated areas, such as drug-free zones, could result in stiffer penalties at sentencing.

Other Drug Charges in Utah

Additional common drug charges in Utah include possession of drug paraphernalia, intent to distribute, distribution, and driving under the influence (DUI). Defendants are typically charged with multiple drug offenses arising out of a single arrest. The sentence for being convicted of multiple drug charges can be harsher and include additional consequences, such as community service, loss of security clearance, substance abuse classes, and more.

 

Possession of drug paraphernalia in Utah can result in up to six months of jail time and a $1,000 fine. Possession of drugs with the intent to distribute in Utah can result in up to 15 years in prison and a $10,000 fine. Being convicted of a DUI in Utah for your first offense can result in up to 180 days in jail, a fine of $1,310, a 120-day license suspension, and at least one year of a mandatory Ignition Interlock Device while driving.

Contact Lokken & Associates, P.C. Today

If you or a loved one are facing drug charges in Utah, retain an experienced criminal defense attorney who will fight for your freedom. The knowledgeable legal team at Lokken & Associates, P.C. is here for you and your family when your future is on the line. Contact us today at (801) 829-9783 to discuss your case.