How Long Until You Can Drive After a DUI Conviction in Utah?

Under Utah Code § 41-6a-502, a couple of situations exist in which you may be charged with a DUI: You were in actual or physical control of a vehicle while your blood or breath alcohol concentration was .05 or more, or you were under the influence of drugs and/or alcohol such that you were unable to safely drive. If you're convicted, in addition to other criminal penalties, you face a driver's license suspension for a certain amount of time. The duration for which you would be unable to drive depends on several factors, including your age and whether you have any previous convictions.

Although you can also lose your driver's license after a DUI arrest, in this blog, we discuss only the length of time you could be without driving privileges after a conviction.

According to Utah Code § 41-6a-509, driver's license suspension/revocation periods are as follows:

Drivers 21 Years of Age or Older

  • First offense: 120-day suspension
  • Second or subsequent offense within 10 years of the previous: 2-year revocation

Drivers 19 Years of Age or Older But Younger than 21 Years of Age

First offense when the individual has a driver's license:

  • Suspension until the driver is 21 years of age, or
  • Suspension for 1 year (whichever is longer)

First offense when the individual doesn't have a driver's license, the driver's license or permit application is denied:

  • Until the individual is 21 years of age,
  • For 1 year (whichever is longer)

Second or subsequent offense within 10 years of the previous when the individual has a driver's license:

  • Revocation until the individual is 21 years of age, or
  • Revocation for 2 years (whichever is longer)

Second or subsequent offense within 10 years of the previous when the individual doesn't have a driver's license, the driver's license or permit application is denied:

  • Until the individual is 21 years of age, or
  • For 2 years (whichever is longer)

Drivers Under 19 Years of Age

First offense when the individual has a driver's license:

  • Suspension until the individual is 21 years of age

First offense when the individual does not have a driver's license:

  • Driver's license or permit is denied until the individual is 21 years of age

Second or subsequent offense within 10 years when the individual has a driver's license:

  • Driver's license revocation until the individual is 21 years of age

Second or subsequent offense within 10 years when the individual does not have a driver's license:

  • Driver's license application or permit is denied until the individual is 21 years of age

Shortening the Suspension Period

In some cases, the court may shorten the driver's license suspension period. For this to happen, the individual must meet certain conditions, such as completing a substance abuse treatment or sobriety program. The specific requirements that must be met depend on the person's age.

The loss of your driving privileges can result in various hardships. To seek to avoid or minimize this and other conviction penalties, contact Lokken & Associates, P.C. at (801) 829-9783. We will aggressively fight toward a favorable outcome on your behalf in Salt Lake City.