At the end of 2018, Utah became the first state in the country to lower its legal limit from .08 percent to .05 percent, making it the strictest DUI law in the nation. A DUI conviction can result in serious penalties, including fines, license suspension, and even jail/prison time—even for a first-time offense.
The following are the DUI penalties in Utah:
- First DUI – A first offense is a misdemeanor, which carries a maximum six-month jail term (with a mandatory minimum of 48 hours in jail), fines of up to $1,000 plus court costs, and driver’s license suspension for up to 120 days.
- Second DUI – A second offense within the last 10 years is also a misdemeanor, punishable by a maximum six-month jail sentence (with a mandatory minimum of 10 days in jail), fines of up to $1,000 plus court costs, and driver’s license suspension for up to two years.
- Third or subsequent DUI – A third or subsequent offense within the last 10 years is a felony, which results in a maximum five-month prison term, fines of up to $5,000 plus court costs, and driver’s license suspension for up to two years.
In addition, a DUI conviction can lead to a permanent criminal record. Having a drunk driving offense follow you for the rest of your life can make it difficult to get/keep a job, apply for college, and even find housing.
If you have been arrested for a DUI in Salt Lake City, our legal team at Lokken & Associates, P.C. can help you avoid serious penalties by either getting your entire case dismissed or your charges reduced. We provide our clients with effective and personalized legal solutions in order to protect their rights, reputation, and future.
For more information, contact us at (801) 829-9783 to discuss your case.