Although neighboring states such as Colorado and Nevada have legalized the recreational use of cannabis, it is still against the law in Utah. Although medical marijuana has been legalized at the end of 2018, the state’s program isn’t expected to be up and running until 2020.
For now, qualified medical marijuana patients can only obtain medicinal cannabis in single doses of flower. The maximum amount of weed a patient can possess is a one-month supply of their personal dosage or four ounces of flower/20 grams of THC.
That means possession of marijuana without medical approval is illegal.
Possession of under one ounce of cannabis is a Class B misdemeanor, punishable by a jail sentence of up to six months and a fine not exceeding $1,000. A second offense is charged as a Class A misdemeanor, while a third or subsequent offense is a third-degree felony.
A Class A misdemeanor results in a maximum one-year jail term and a fine of up to $2,500. A third-degree felony carries a prison sentence of up to five years and a maximum $5,000 fine.
Sale of any amount of marijuana is a third-degree felony offense. A second or subsequent offense is a second-degree felony, punishable by a maximum 15-year prison term and a fine of up to $10,000.
If you have been arrested for a drug crime in Salt Lake City, contact Lokken & Putnam, P.C. today at (801) 829-9783 and schedule a case review.