Any person could be arrested for driving under the influence (DUI) in Utah when they get behind the wheel after consuming alcohol, and those convicted of drunk driving should know that subsequent offenses may lead to stiffer penalties. Utah has a "lookback period" of 10 years, which means all prior drunk driving convictions within the last decade can and will count as past DUI convictions.
The penalties for a first-time DUI in Utah are a mandatory two days up to 180 days in jail, a fine of at least $1,310, and a driver's license suspension of 120 days. If an alleged offender had a breath or blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of 0.16%, he or she could also be required to install an ignition interlock device (IID) in all vehicles they own or operate for one year.
While the consequences for a first-time DUI are harsh, penalties increase with subsequent convictions.
A second drunk driving conviction may result in the following penalties: a minimum of 10 days or five days with 30 hours of electronic monitoring up to a maximum of 180 days in jail, a minimum fine of $1,560, and a driver's license revocation of two years. Additionally, offenders may have to install IIDs for up to two years after a second conviction.
A third DUI conviction is punishable by at least 62 days for up to five years in prison, a fine of at least $2,580, and a driver's license revocation for two years. Offenders may have to install IIDs for up to two years after a third conviction.
Fighting a Conviction
People arrested for drunk driving offenses need to know that arrests are not the same as convictions. After an arrest, a prosecutor still needs to prove an alleged offender's guilt beyond a reasonable doubt, but an experienced criminal defense lawyer can fight to try and get the charges thrown out.
Lokken & Associates can conduct a thorough investigation into an arrest and identify any errors made by law enforcement that may have produced a false positive or otherwise compromised the charges levied against the accused. Our firm fights to help our clients achieve favorable resolutions resulting in the fewest possible penalties.
Call (801) 829-9783 now for a free consultation for your criminal case!